William Byron joins these historic names as drivers of the 24 car

Hendrick Motorsports made the surprising announcement that 19-year-old rookie William Byron will drive the 24 car next season for the team, while Chase Elliott is moving to the No. 9 car.

Elliott hasn’t won this season, but he is still in position to make the playoffs. In fact, only one driver has won in the 24 car. That driver, of course, is Jeff Gordon.

Gordon won 93 races and four Cup Series championships in the 24. But he isn’t the only iconic driver to race in the car.

Jamie Squire/Getty Images

Cecil Gordon—no relation—was the only driver before Jeff Gordon to start in more than 20 races in the 24. He finished third in the points in 1971.

Hall of Famer Bobby Allison made 11 starts in the car, while Kenny Wallace made three starts in the 24 in 1991.

Even Richard Petty made one start in the 24, finishing 13th.

Byron has yet to race in the Cup Series, but he will start off his career in a prestigious car for a success team. The young driver has been very successful in the Xfinity Series, and Hendick Motorsports believed it was time to call him up to the Cup Series.

(h/t NASCAR.com)

Check Also

Unique race track changes its layout after drivers say the turns were too slow

It could easily make for one of the most exciting races of the season.

Joe Gibbs announces four sponsors have joined Erik Jones

What a day!