No. 5 Cadillac DPi-V.R drives to overall victory in 2018 24 Hours of Daytona

No. 5 Konica Minolta Cadillac DPi-V.R at 2018 24 Hours of Daytona

The 2018 WeatherTech SportsCar Championship kicked off this past weekend with a cracker of a 24 Hours of Daytona. It was a record-setting race that saw Cadillac and Ford continue their strong performances from last year.

It was the No. 5 Konica Minolta Mustang Sampling Cadillac DPi-V.R driven by Joao Barbosa, Filipe Albuquerque and Christian Fittipaldi that claimed the overall victory, with the trio also setting a new record for the most miles driven in the race. They managed 2,876.48 miles, or about 808 laps. The previous record of 2,760.96 miles was set all the way back in 1982 by John Paul Jr., John Paul Sr. and Rolf Stommelen in a Porsche 935.

And just like last year’s race, the 2018 24 Hours of Daytona saw a 1-2 finish for Cadillac, with the brand’s No. 31 DPi-V.R claiming the second spot. Doing the driving were Felipe Nasr, Eric Curran, Stuart Middleton and Mike Conway, and just over a minute separated them from the winning car.

Rounding out the top three spots was the No. 54 Core Autosport Oreca LMP2 driven by Jon Bennett, Colin Braun, Loic Duval and Romain Dumas.

Sadly for Acura, the past weekend wasn’t the miracle run the automaker was probably hoping for. Its pair of ARX-05 DPi racers finished 9th and 10th, well behind many LPM2 cars and 15 laps behind the winner.

No. 66 Ford Chip Ganassi Racing GT at 2018 24 Hours of Daytona

In the classes for production-based cars, GT Le Mans (GTLM) and GT Daytona (GTD), Ford and its partner Chip Ganassi Racing had a lot to celebrate with the No. 67 GT coming home first in the GTLM class and 11th overall. Doing the driving were Ryan Briscoe, Richard Westbrook and Scott Dixon.

Read also:
Shelby finally puts the 1967 GT500 Super Snake into production

After leading the class for most of the race, the No. 66 GT driven by Joey Hand, Dirk Müller and Sebastien Bourdais finished second and 12th overall. And third in the GTLM class and 13th overall went to the No. 3 Chevrolet Corvette C7.R driven by Antonio Garcia, Jan Magnussen and Mike Rockenfeller.

Like Acura, BMW also didn’t have a dream run with the debut of its new M8-based race car. BMW’s best-placed finisher was the No. 24 M8 driven by John Edwards, Jesse Krohn, Nicky Catsburg and Augusto Farfus. They came 7th in the GTLM class and 18th overall.

And finally, in the GTD class, the winner was the No. 11 Lamborghini Huracán driven by Mirko Bortolotti, Rolf Ineichen, Franck Perera and Rik Breukers. They finished 21st overall. Second in class and 22nd overall was the No. 66 Acura NSX driven AJ Allmendinger, Katherine Legge, Alvaro Parente and Trent Hindman; and third in class and 23 overall was the No. 48 Lamborghini Huracán driven by Andrea Caldarelli, Bryan Sellers, Madison Snow, and Bryce Miller.

The next race on the 2018 WeatherTech SportsCar Championship calendar is the 12 Hours of Sebring on March 17.

Check Also

Volkswagen chases extreme downforce for its ID R Pikes Peak racer

Volkswagen returns to the the International Pikes Peak Hill Climb on June 24, and the German automaker is going high-tech with its new race car, the ID R. This all-electric race car packs plenty of power to help it silently scoot to the mountain's 14,115-foot summit. However, as this video shows, it's not only power that concerns the VW Motorsport crew...

Jaguar I-Pace race car makes driving, not racing, debut at 2018 Formula E Berlin e-Prix

Jaguar is betting big on electric cars. That's clearly evident with the new battery-powered I-Pace crossover SUV and the fact that the British automaker has been racing in the Formula E Championship since the 2016/2017 season. Jaguar is also creating a support series for Formula E. Called the Jaguar I-Pace eTrophy, it's a one-make series built around a...