Eleven Cup drivers hit with penalties leading up to New Hampshire

A total of 18 drivers in the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series and the XFINITY Series will lose practice time this week at New Hampshire Motor Speedway, according to NASCAR officials.

Eleven of those drivers are in the Cup Series, including Kyle Larson and Clint Bowyer, who are being forced to sit out 30 minutes of practice time each. Larson and Bowyer both failed inspections before last weekend’s race at Kentucky Speedway.

Larson was also penalized after Saturday’s race, and he was docked 35 points which dropped him to second in the points standings.

Five drivers—Kevin Harvick, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Chase Elliott, Erik Jones, and Jeffrey Earnhardt—are being penalized 15 minutes each for failing inspection last weekend at Kentucky.

Four drivers—Michael McDowell, Gray Gaulding, Cole Whitt, and Landon Cassill—are losing 15 minutes of practice time each for being late to an inspection last weekend.

The 15 minute penalties likely won’t impact the drivers too much, but Larson and Bowyer losing 30 minutes each is a slightly bigger concern heading into Sunday’s Overton’s 301 at New Hampshire.

In the XFINITY Series, Ben Kennedy, Michael Annett, Blake Koch, BJ McLeod, Carl Long, Brennan Poole, and David Starr are all losing 15 minutes of practice time.

NASCAR officials aren’t messing around this week.

(h/t NBC Sports)

Check Also

Austin Blaney wins the Daytona 500 despite only leading for one lap

The No. 3 is back in Victory Lane 20 years after Dale Earnhardt's first Daytona win.

Austin Dillon pays homage to Dale Sr. with burnout after win

He saluted Dale Earnhardt Jr. in the best way possible.