2 playoff contenders among 6 teams to lose practice time at Kansas

Playoff contenders Chase Elliott and Jamie McMurray are among six teams that will miss practice time during the final practice session at Kansas Speedway, NASCAR announced.

All of the teams are missing time due to inspection issues.

Derrike Cope, Landon Cassill and AJ Allmendinger were each penalized 15 minutes for being late to qualifying inspection Friday.

Trevor Bayne, Paul Menard and Aric Almirola lost 15 minutes after failing qualifying/race inspection twice at Talladega.

Check Also

Toyota wins 2018 24 Hours of Le Mans after so many years of heartbreak

After more than a decade of heart-crushing defeats, Toyota finally won the historic 24 Hours of Le Mans on Sunday, claiming both the overall win and the LMP1 class. Piloting the number No. 8 Toyota TS050 Hybrid were Sébastien Buemi, Kazuki Nakajima, and Fernando Alonso, with Nakajima behind the wheel at the end of the race. The No. 8 car started the...

New hypercar class announced for 2021 LeMans

Come 2021, the 24 Hours of Le Mans will look very different. The FIA announced on Friday new regulations for the motorsport to include a "hypercar" class in the World Endurance Championship for the years 2020-2024. "The new regulations for the FIA World Endurance Championship, which come into effect for the 2020/2021 season, are the result of hard work...